Flowers and moutains

The Via Alpina, a walking route through the Alps

The Via Alpina crosses the Vaud Alps on 3 stages and marks the near end of the journey for the part in Switzerland. Follow this universal route through the Alps and get to know the Alpine peoples, their culture and the mountain heritage.

The Via Alpina is an epic journey through the entire Alpine chain. The network consists of five hiking routes and spans the eight countries of the Alpine arc: Slovenia, Italy, Austria, Germany, Liechtenstein, Switzerland, France and the Principality of Monaco. The distance is about 5000 km and is divided into 342 walking days.

In Switzerland, the Via Alpina starts in Vaduz in Liechtenstein and leads the walkers to Montreux in 20 stages. The route passes through fields, plains, valleys, pastures, summits and mythical passes of the Alps.

The passage through the Vaud Pays-d'Enhaut takes the Via Alpina hikers on a three-day walk from Gstaad.

Stages 17, 18 and 19 cross the Vaud Alps:

  1. Gstaad - L'Etivaz

  2. L'Etivaz - Rossinière

  3. Rossinière - Rochers de Naye

Do you like this story?