Via Francigena

Description

The « Via Francigena » is the historic pilgrimage from Canterbury to Rome steeped in culture, ancestry and spirituality. The route takes pilgrims on a 2'000 km journey of discovery through some amazing landscapes either on foot or on a bicycle. 7 of the stages go through Switzerland.

It was in 990 that the visit of Sigerico, Archbishop of Canterbury, to Pope Jean XV in Rome marked the creation of the « Via Francigena ». A reconstruction of the official route, according to the Archbishop’s own notes, is completed in 79 stages. Starting in Canterbury, it passes through France and Switzerland before continuing on through Italy with Rome as its final destination. The 7th stage of the trek through Switzerland takes you from Vevey to Aigle whilst also taking in the terraced vineyards of Lavaux, a UNESCO heritage site. Arriving in the centre of town, visitors discover the historic heart of Aigle with Bourg and Jerusalem Roads as well as Napoleon’s Bridge. Before heading out on the next stage of the pilgrimage, be sure to take the time to appreciate the region and to admire the vineyards that surround Aigle ChĂąteau. As the emblematic grape variety of the area the Chasselas grape is honourerd and revered in all its glory in the Vine and Wine Museum.

The « Via Francigena » is the historic pilgrimage from Canterbury to Rome steeped in culture, ancestry and spirituality. The route takes pilgrims on a 2'000 km journey of discovery through some amazing landscapes either on foot or on a bicycle. 7 of the stages go through Switzerland.

It was in 990 that the visit of Sigerico, Archbishop of Canterbury, to Pope Jean XV in Rome marked the creation of the « Via Francigena ». A reconstruction of the official route, according to the Archbishop’s own notes, is completed in 79 stages. Starting in Canterbury, it passes through France and Switzerland before continuing on through Italy with Rome as its final destination. The 7th stage of the trek through Switzerland takes you from Vevey to Aigle whilst also taking in the terraced vineyards of Lavaux, a UNESCO heritage site. Arriving in the centre of town, visitors discover the historic heart of Aigle with Bourg and Jerusalem Roads as well as Napoleon’s Bridge. Before heading out on the next stage of the pilgrimage, be sure to take the time to appreciate the region and to admire the vineyards that surround Aigle ChĂąteau. As the emblematic grape variety of the area the Chasselas grape is honourerd and revered in all its glory in the Vine and Wine Museum.

Contact Information

Location
Getting There
EXTERNAL_SPLITTING_BEGIN EXTERNAL_SPLITTING_END

Via Francigena

Beschreibung

Der Frankenweg ist ein mittelalterlicher Pilgerweg von Canterbury nach Rom, eine kulturelle und traditionsreiche Wallfahrt. Den 2000 km lange Frankenweg, der durch wundervolle Landschaften führt, macht man entweder zu Fuss oder mit dem Rad. 7 Etappen führen durch die Schweiz.

Die heutige Rekonstruktion der Via Francigena stützt sich im Wesentlichen auf die Angaben von Sigerich dem Ernsten, Erzbischof von Canterbury, der im Jahre 990 nach Rom pilgerte, um dort Papst Johannes XV zu besuchen. Die offizielle Route gliedert sich in 79 Etappen. Sie fängt in Canterbury an, durchquert Frankreich und die Schweiz, geht weiter bis nach Italien, wo sie schliesslich in Rom endet. Die 7te Etappe der Route durch die Schweiz verbindet Vevey und Aigle, während man die Weinberge auf den steilen Terrassen des Lavaux, einem UNESCO-Welterbe, durchstreift. Im Zentrum von Aigle entdecken die Besucher das historische Herz auf den Strassen «Rue du Bourg» und «Rue de Jérusalem», so wie die Napoleon Brücke. Bevor man den Weg fortsetzt, sollte man sich die Zeit nehmen, um die Weinberge rund um das Schloss herum zu bewundern. Die Weinrebe Chasselas ist das Wahrzeichen der Region und einige ihrer Geheimnisse werden im Weinmuseum gelüftet.

Der Frankenweg ist ein mittelalterlicher Pilgerweg von Canterbury nach Rom, eine kulturelle und traditionsreiche Wallfahrt. Den 2000 km lange Frankenweg, der durch wundervolle Landschaften führt, macht man entweder zu Fuss oder mit dem Rad. 7 Etappen führen durch die Schweiz.

Die heutige Rekonstruktion der Via Francigena stützt sich im Wesentlichen auf die Angaben von Sigerich dem Ernsten, Erzbischof von Canterbury, der im Jahre 990 nach Rom pilgerte, um dort Papst Johannes XV zu besuchen. Die offizielle Route gliedert sich in 79 Etappen. Sie fängt in Canterbury an, durchquert Frankreich und die Schweiz, geht weiter bis nach Italien, wo sie schliesslich in Rom endet. Die 7te Etappe der Route durch die Schweiz verbindet Vevey und Aigle, während man die Weinberge auf den steilen Terrassen des Lavaux, einem UNESCO-Welterbe, durchstreift. Im Zentrum von Aigle entdecken die Besucher das historische Herz auf den Strassen «Rue du Bourg» und «Rue de Jérusalem», so wie die Napoleon Brücke. Bevor man den Weg fortsetzt, sollte man sich die Zeit nehmen, um die Weinberge rund um das Schloss herum zu bewundern. Die Weinrebe Chasselas ist das Wahrzeichen der Region und einige ihrer Geheimnisse werden im Weinmuseum gelüftet.

Dauer

Besucher verbringen hier normalerweise 1 Stunde.

Kontaktinformationen

Standort
Wie komme ich dahin?
EXTERNAL_SPLITTING_BEGIN EXTERNAL_SPLITTING_END