Taveyanne

Description

The hamlet of Taveyanne, a listed monument, is nestled in the heart of a nature reserve. Its shingled-roofed chalets are lined up in tight rows in the middle of the pasture, protected from avalanches. In the summer months, eat at the refuge, admire the old chalets, take a break from walking or cycling or celebrate midsummer! Each time you visit, be amazed by the authenticity and natural beauty of this timeless place!

AN ALPINE HAMLET CLASSIFIED AS A HISTORICAL MONUMENT Classified as a historical monument since 1970, the hamlet of Taveyanne is nestled in a green setting. For the long-term preservation of this nature and landscape, the Gryonnais have signed a nature reserve easement with the Ligue vaudoise pour la protection de la nature. The hamlet of Taveyanne was completely destroyed by a terrible fire in 1719, on the day of the ascent to the mountain pasture. The log cabins with wooden roofs that can be seen today were rebuilt between 1720 and 1830, with the exception of the communal barn, which dates from 1987. Even today, the hamlet of Taveyanne lives without electricity. THE MIDSUMMER OF TAVEYANNE Midsummer is a pastoral festival that goes back a long way. At that time, each family had a small herd of cows, sheep and goats. During the summer, the young cowherds settled in Taveyanne and made butter and cheese. The rest of the families stayed in the village to do farm work and haymaking. Midsummer was the occasion to go up to Taveyanne to visit the young cowherds, to get their food supplies and, above all, to weigh and measure the quantity of milk produced in order to distribute it to the different cattle owners for making butter and cheese. What was at first a simple commercial meeting soon became a pretext for a fine festival which began with a Sunday morning service, farandoles, the famous picoulet and ended with a youth ball. It was in 1869 that Juste Olivier, writer and poet, sang his song of the Taveyanne for the first time, which he offered to the Youth of Gryon. Today, the Taveyanne Midsummer Festival attracts hundreds of people, keeping alive a tradition that began centuries ago in the mountain pastures. THE TAVEYANNE REFUGE The Taveyanne refuge welcomes you from May to October on the terrace or inside the refuge. In autumn, hunting is on the menu. TAVEYANNE IN WINTER In winter, the sleepy hamlet is covered in snow, which gives it a peaceful atmosphere. Look at the chalets on a snowshoe or cross-country ski tour!

ACCESS In summer On foot from the arrival of the Barboleuse-Les Chaux cable car, about 30 minutes walk. Numerous hiking trails from Gryon, Villars and the Col de la Croix lead to Taveyanne. By car from Villars or Les Diablerets via the Col de la Croix road or from Gryon via the Sodoleuvre road. Free parking on site. In winter On foot or with snowshoes from the arrival of the Barboleuse-Les Chaux cable car, about 30 minutes walk. Cross-country skiing from Les Frasses/Gryon or Rochegrise/Villars.

The hamlet of Taveyanne, a listed monument, is nestled in the heart of a nature reserve. Its shingled-roofed chalets are lined up in tight rows in the middle of the pasture, protected from avalanches. In the summer months, eat at the refuge, admire the old chalets, take a break from walking or cycling or celebrate midsummer! Each time you visit, be amazed by the authenticity and natural beauty of this timeless place!

AN ALPINE HAMLET CLASSIFIED AS A HISTORICAL MONUMENT Classified as a historical monument since 1970, the hamlet of Taveyanne is nestled in a green setting. For the long-term preservation of this nature and landscape, the Gryonnais have signed a nature reserve easement with the Ligue vaudoise pour la protection de la nature. The hamlet of Taveyanne was completely destroyed by a terrible fire in 1719, on the day of the ascent to the mountain pasture. The log cabins with wooden roofs that can be seen today were rebuilt between 1720 and 1830, with the exception of the communal barn, which dates from 1987. Even today, the hamlet of Taveyanne lives without electricity. THE MIDSUMMER OF TAVEYANNE Midsummer is a pastoral festival that goes back a long way. At that time, each family had a small herd of cows, sheep and goats. During the summer, the young cowherds settled in Taveyanne and made butter and cheese. The rest of the families stayed in the village to do farm work and haymaking. Midsummer was the occasion to go up to Taveyanne to visit the young cowherds, to get their food supplies and, above all, to weigh and measure the quantity of milk produced in order to distribute it to the different cattle owners for making butter and cheese. What was at first a simple commercial meeting soon became a pretext for a fine festival which began with a Sunday morning service, farandoles, the famous picoulet and ended with a youth ball. It was in 1869 that Juste Olivier, writer and poet, sang his song of the Taveyanne for the first time, which he offered to the Youth of Gryon. Today, the Taveyanne Midsummer Festival attracts hundreds of people, keeping alive a tradition that began centuries ago in the mountain pastures. THE TAVEYANNE REFUGE The Taveyanne refuge welcomes you from May to October on the terrace or inside the refuge. In autumn, hunting is on the menu. TAVEYANNE IN WINTER In winter, the sleepy hamlet is covered in snow, which gives it a peaceful atmosphere. Look at the chalets on a snowshoe or cross-country ski tour!

ACCESS In summer On foot from the arrival of the Barboleuse-Les Chaux cable car, about 30 minutes walk. Numerous hiking trails from Gryon, Villars and the Col de la Croix lead to Taveyanne. By car from Villars or Les Diablerets via the Col de la Croix road or from Gryon via the Sodoleuvre road. Free parking on site. In winter On foot or with snowshoes from the arrival of the Barboleuse-Les Chaux cable car, about 30 minutes walk. Cross-country skiing from Les Frasses/Gryon or Rochegrise/Villars.

Contact Information

Location
Getting There
EXTERNAL_SPLITTING_BEGIN EXTERNAL_SPLITTING_END

Taveyanne

Description

Le hameau de Taveyanne, classé monument historique, est niché au cœur d'une réserve naturelle. Ses chalets aux toits de bardeaux sont alignés en rangs serrés au milieu du pâturage, à l’abri des avalanches. A la belle saison, faites une pause au cours d’une balade à pied ou en vélo ou célébrez la mi-été dans ce pittoresque hameau de montagne. L'authenticité et la beauté naturelle du site font merveille.

UN HAMEAU D’ALPAGE CLASSE MONUMENT HISTORIQUE Classé monument historique depuis 1970, le hameau de Taveyanne est niché dans un écrin de verdure. Pour la préservation à long terme de cette nature et de ces paysages, les Gryonnais ont signé une servitude de réserve naturelle avec la Ligue vaudoise pour la protection de la nature. Le hameau de Taveyanne fut complètement détruit lors d’un terrible incendie survenu en 1719, le jour de la montée à l’alpage. Les chalets en madrier et toits de tavillons que l’on voit actuellement ont été reconstruits entre 1720 et 1830 sauf l’étable communale qui date de 1987. Aujourd’hui encore, le hameau de Taveyanne vit sans l’électricité. LA MI-ÉTÉ DE TAVEYANNE La Mi-été (milieu de l'été) est une fête pastorale qui remonte loin dans le temps. A l'époque, chaque famille possédait un petit cheptel composé de vaches, moutons et chèvres. Durant l’été, les jeunes vachers s’installaient à Taveyanne et fabriquaient beurre et fromage. Le reste des familles restait au village pour les travaux agricoles et les foins. La Mi-été était l'occasion de la montée à Taveyanne pour une visite à ces jeunes vachers, leurs ravitaillements en denrées alimentaires et surtout, pour la pesée et le mesurage de la quantité de lait produit en vue de sa répartition en beurre et fromages entre les différents propriétaires de bétail. Ce qui n'était au début qu'une simple rencontre à caractère commercial devint vite prétexte à une belle fête qui commençait avec un culte le dimanche matin, des farandoles, le fameux picoulet et se terminait par un bal de la jeunesse. C'est en 1869 que Juste Olivier, écrivain et poète, chanta pour la première fois sa chanson de la Taveyanne qu'il offrit à la Jeunesse de Gryon. Aujourd’hui, la mi-été de Taveyanne déplace des centaines de personnes, faisant ainsi perdurer une tradition née il y a plusieurs siècles dans les alpages. LE REFUGE DE TAVEYANNE Le refuge de Taveyanne vous accueille de mai à octobre sur sa terrasse ou à l’intérieur du refuge. A l’automne, la chasse est au menu. TAVEYANNE EN HIVER En hiver, le hameau endormi est recouvert de neige ce qui lui confèrent une atmosphère paisible. Vous apercevez les chalets lors d’une balade en raquettes ou en ski de fond.

ACCES En été A pied depuis l’arrivée de la télécabine Barboleuse-Les Chaux, environ 30 minutes de marche. De nombreux sentiers de randonnée au départ de Gryon, Villars, du Col de la Croix mènent à Taveyanne. En voiture depuis Villars ou Les Diablerets via la route du Col de la Croix ou depuis Gryon via la route de Sodoleuvre. Parking gratuit sur place. En hiver A pied ou en raquettes depuis l’arrivée de la télécabine Barboleuse-Les Chaux, environ 30 minutes de marche. En ski de fond depuis les Frasses/Gryon ou Rochegrise/Villars.

Le hameau de Taveyanne, classé monument historique, est niché au cœur d'une réserve naturelle. Ses chalets aux toits de bardeaux sont alignés en rangs serrés au milieu du pâturage, à l’abri des avalanches. A la belle saison, faites une pause au cours d’une balade à pied ou en vélo ou célébrez la mi-été dans ce pittoresque hameau de montagne. L'authenticité et la beauté naturelle du site font merveille.

UN HAMEAU D’ALPAGE CLASSE MONUMENT HISTORIQUE Classé monument historique depuis 1970, le hameau de Taveyanne est niché dans un écrin de verdure. Pour la préservation à long terme de cette nature et de ces paysages, les Gryonnais ont signé une servitude de réserve naturelle avec la Ligue vaudoise pour la protection de la nature. Le hameau de Taveyanne fut complètement détruit lors d’un terrible incendie survenu en 1719, le jour de la montée à l’alpage. Les chalets en madrier et toits de tavillons que l’on voit actuellement ont été reconstruits entre 1720 et 1830 sauf l’étable communale qui date de 1987. Aujourd’hui encore, le hameau de Taveyanne vit sans l’électricité. LA MI-ÉTÉ DE TAVEYANNE La Mi-été (milieu de l'été) est une fête pastorale qui remonte loin dans le temps. A l'époque, chaque famille possédait un petit cheptel composé de vaches, moutons et chèvres. Durant l’été, les jeunes vachers s’installaient à Taveyanne et fabriquaient beurre et fromage. Le reste des familles restait au village pour les travaux agricoles et les foins. La Mi-été était l'occasion de la montée à Taveyanne pour une visite à ces jeunes vachers, leurs ravitaillements en denrées alimentaires et surtout, pour la pesée et le mesurage de la quantité de lait produit en vue de sa répartition en beurre et fromages entre les différents propriétaires de bétail. Ce qui n'était au début qu'une simple rencontre à caractère commercial devint vite prétexte à une belle fête qui commençait avec un culte le dimanche matin, des farandoles, le fameux picoulet et se terminait par un bal de la jeunesse. C'est en 1869 que Juste Olivier, écrivain et poète, chanta pour la première fois sa chanson de la Taveyanne qu'il offrit à la Jeunesse de Gryon. Aujourd’hui, la mi-été de Taveyanne déplace des centaines de personnes, faisant ainsi perdurer une tradition née il y a plusieurs siècles dans les alpages. LE REFUGE DE TAVEYANNE Le refuge de Taveyanne vous accueille de mai à octobre sur sa terrasse ou à l’intérieur du refuge. A l’automne, la chasse est au menu. TAVEYANNE EN HIVER En hiver, le hameau endormi est recouvert de neige ce qui lui confèrent une atmosphère paisible. Vous apercevez les chalets lors d’une balade en raquettes ou en ski de fond.

ACCES En été A pied depuis l’arrivée de la télécabine Barboleuse-Les Chaux, environ 30 minutes de marche. De nombreux sentiers de randonnée au départ de Gryon, Villars, du Col de la Croix mènent à Taveyanne. En voiture depuis Villars ou Les Diablerets via la route du Col de la Croix ou depuis Gryon via la route de Sodoleuvre. Parking gratuit sur place. En hiver A pied ou en raquettes depuis l’arrivée de la télécabine Barboleuse-Les Chaux, environ 30 minutes de marche. En ski de fond depuis les Frasses/Gryon ou Rochegrise/Villars.

Durée

Les visiteurs passent généralement 10 minutes ici.

Coordonnées

Emplacement
Comment s'y rendre
EXTERNAL_SPLITTING_BEGIN EXTERNAL_SPLITTING_END