L’Etivaz AOP

Description

It is at an altitude of between 1000 and 2000 metres, in the heart of the pastures, that the producers make Etivaz PDO. A cheese with the scent of Alpine flora, traditionally processed in large copper cauldrons over a wood fire.

Etivaz AOP is the result of a great deal of know-how, passed down from generation to generation. Every year, between May and October, almost 70 farming families patiently and by hand transform the milk from their cows in the alpine chalets. The precious nectar is poured and brewed in large copper cauldrons, heated exclusively over a wood fire. Don't hesitate to stop by the Maison de L'Etivaz, in the village of the same name, to visit the cheese cellars, where the wheels of cheese produced by all the farmers are stored and matured. You will find a film retracing the life of the mountain pastures throughout history and the seasons. Etivaz is the first Swiss cheese to have obtained the Appellation d'origine contrÎlée (AOP) in 2000.

It is at an altitude of between 1000 and 2000 metres, in the heart of the pastures, that the producers make Etivaz PDO. A cheese with the scent of Alpine flora, traditionally processed in large copper cauldrons over a wood fire.

Etivaz AOP is the result of a great deal of know-how, passed down from generation to generation. Every year, between May and October, almost 70 farming families patiently and by hand transform the milk from their cows in the alpine chalets. The precious nectar is poured and brewed in large copper cauldrons, heated exclusively over a wood fire. Don't hesitate to stop by the Maison de L'Etivaz, in the village of the same name, to visit the cheese cellars, where the wheels of cheese produced by all the farmers are stored and matured. You will find a film retracing the life of the mountain pastures throughout history and the seasons. Etivaz is the first Swiss cheese to have obtained the Appellation d'origine contrÎlée (AOP) in 2000.

Location
Getting There
EXTERNAL_SPLITTING_BEGIN EXTERNAL_SPLITTING_END

L’Etivaz AOP

Description

C’est entre 1000 et 2000 mètres d’altitude, au cœur des pâturages, que les producteurs procèdent à la fabrication de l’Etivaz AOP. Un fromage au parfum de flore alpine, transformé de manière traditionnelle dans de grands chaudrons de cuivre, sur un feu de bois.

Conçu de manière artisanale, l’Etivaz AOP est le fruit d’un grand savoir-faire, transmis de génération en génération. Tous les ans, entre mai et octobre, près de 70 familles d’agriculteurs transforment patiemment et à la force du bras le lait issu de leurs vaches dans des chalets d’alpage. Le précieux nectar est versé et brassé dans de grands chaudrons de cuivre, chauffés exclusivement au feu de bois. N’hésitez pas à faire une halte à la Maison de L’Etivaz, dans le village éponyme, pour y visiter les caves à fromage, où sont stockées et affinées les meules produites par l’ensemble des agriculteurs. Vous y trouverez un diaporama retraçant la vie des alpages au fil de l’histoire et des saisons. L’Etivaz est le 1er fromage suisse à avoir obtenu l’Appellation d’origine contrôlée (AOP) en 2000.

C’est entre 1000 et 2000 mètres d’altitude, au cœur des pâturages, que les producteurs procèdent à la fabrication de l’Etivaz AOP. Un fromage au parfum de flore alpine, transformé de manière traditionnelle dans de grands chaudrons de cuivre, sur un feu de bois.

Conçu de manière artisanale, l’Etivaz AOP est le fruit d’un grand savoir-faire, transmis de génération en génération. Tous les ans, entre mai et octobre, près de 70 familles d’agriculteurs transforment patiemment et à la force du bras le lait issu de leurs vaches dans des chalets d’alpage. Le précieux nectar est versé et brassé dans de grands chaudrons de cuivre, chauffés exclusivement au feu de bois. N’hésitez pas à faire une halte à la Maison de L’Etivaz, dans le village éponyme, pour y visiter les caves à fromage, où sont stockées et affinées les meules produites par l’ensemble des agriculteurs. Vous y trouverez un diaporama retraçant la vie des alpages au fil de l’histoire et des saisons. L’Etivaz est le 1er fromage suisse à avoir obtenu l’Appellation d’origine contrôlée (AOP) en 2000.

Emplacement
Comment s'y rendre
EXTERNAL_SPLITTING_BEGIN EXTERNAL_SPLITTING_END