Region of Pays-d'Enhaut with mountain range - Winter

THE PAYS-D'ENHAUT REGION

Between the Gruyère region and Gstaad lies the Pays-d'Enhaut in the Vaud Alps. This lovely valley is rich in cultural heritage and excellent gastronomy, but it also offers highlights in terms of sports and cultural activities. Biking, climbing a peak over 2000 metres high, breathtaking jumps, skiing or tasting regional products - here, everyone will find that certain something to make their stay unforgettable.

Skier at the videmanette with Gummfluh in the background - Winter - Rougemont - Pays-d'Enhaut Région

The Ski area: La Videmanette

The 7.5 km long La Videmanette piste, the longest one of Gstaad region, is an unforgettable skiing experience awaiting to be conquered.

More Information

 Château-d'Œx - l'Etivaz

Château-d'Œx is known far beyond its borders for its International Balloon Festival, yet it has many other treasures to offer throughout the year. Come and discover them among the cultural and leisure activities, the traditions and the history of this idyllic village nestled in the Vaud Alps. Its streets invite you to enjoy a culinary stop and taste the typical products of the area. 

A stroll up to the Temple hill is a must and rewards you with an exceptional view of the valley and the surrounding mountains. Nature lovers will be tempted by Château-d'Œx's easy walks along the Saane or the sportier ones to the surrounding villages and lakes. Those seeking a change of perspective can climb into the basket of a hot-air balloon all year round and admire the Pays-d'Enhaut from above. 

The village of l’Etivaz, situated between Château-d'Œx and La Lécherette, is famous for its alpine cheese L'Etivaz AOP which has been made by the farmers over a wood fire for centuries according to an old tradition. The cheese wheels then reach their maturity here in this small mountain village before being shipped all over the world. You can enjoy a piece of cheese on the terrace of the restaurant Le Chamois.

Rougemont

Situated at an altitude of 1000 metres, nestled in lovely natural surroundings, Rougemont will enchant you with its architectural heritage. Here, wonderful chalets are lined up one after the other, each with its ornamentation a shining example of the local craftsmanship. These wooden houses, some of which are over 400 years old, are a true source of pride for the locals and will delight you with their carvings, engravings, floral ornaments, and inscriptions.  

The 16th century castle and the 11th century Romanesque church rise majestically at the entrance to the village. Built by the monks of Cluny Abbey in Burgundy, both are classified as important cultural monuments. No less gorgeous, yet with an inviting level of comfort, the famous Hotel de Rougemont awaits you in the upper part of the village.

Sport plays an important role in Rougemont all year round. The Videmanette mountain station is the ideal starting point for long hikes in summer and for long, sunny downhill runs in winter!

Culture and arts and crafts are an essential part of village life. An educational tour offers a fun way to learn more about Louis Saugy, the pioneer of silhouette art. Meanwhile, the local church hosts selected classical concerts of the highest quality. 

Thanks to all this, the village of Rougemont has joined The most beautiful Villages in Switzerland association in early 2017.

Rossinière

At the entrance to the Pays-d'Enhaut, you will be welcomed by the small village of Rossinière, whose idyllic setting is shaped by its lovely surroundings, its centuries-old history and its magnificent wooden houses. Its chalets with their painted and carved façades invite you to take a stroll through the village centre and the surrounding hamlets. Don't miss the Grand Chalet, where the famous painter Balthus lived until he passed away.

This destination is situated on an extensive network of hiking trails that will make the joy of both beginners and experienced hikers. The Lac du Vernex and the Tine Gorge, which marks the border with the canton of Fribourg, are very popular among nature lovers. 

Regional Nature Park Gruyère – Pays-d'Enhaut

The Regional Nature Park extends over 630 km² from the shores of Lake Geneva in Montreux to the Vaud Alps, Gruyère and Gstaad. Its location represents the area of the northern limestone foothills of the Alps with remarkable biotopes and geotopes as well as a rich fauna and flora. Three "Pro Natura" nature reserves are included here: La Pierreuse, Le Vanil Noir and Le Larzey.

Besides the breathtaking nature, this Park offers a huge range of leisure activities with adventure hikes, wildlife watching, cultural-historical tours as well as indulging in regional specialities. 

Pays-d'Enhaut regional products

The Pays-d'Enhaut is beloved and famous for its products, made here right in the heart of our alpine world. The Pays-d'Enhaut Produits Authentiques brand comprises more than 100 products. These include specialities such as the mountain cheese L'Etivaz AOP or the renowned Tomme Fleurette de Rougemont. Beef, sausages, herbal teas and, of course, honey - our local producers use nature's treasures to prepare a wide range of exquisite products. Taste the savoir-faire that only exists here and enjoy the taste experience, in our restaurants or from your home, together with family and friends.

EXTERNAL_SPLITTING_BEGIN EXTERNAL_SPLITTING_END

Région du Pays-d'Enhaut avec chaîne de montagne - Winter

LA RÉGION DU PAYS-D'ENHAUT

Situé dans les Alpes vaudoises entre les régions de Gruyère et Gstaad, le Pays-d’Enhaut est riche en patrimoine et gastronomie mais vous propose également une multitude d’activités sportives et culturelles ! Que ce soit l’ascension d’un sommet à plus de 2’000 m., une sortie à ski ou une dégustation de produits régionaux, chacun pourra y trouver son bonheur le temps d’un séjour. La vallée du Pays-d’Enhaut se démarque autant par ses activités que par ses paysages !

Skieur à la videmanette avec Gummfluh en arrière plan - Hiver - Rougemont - Pays-d'Enhaut Région
Domaine skiable de La Videmanette

Les remontées mécaniques de La Videmanette attendent les skieurs aguerris ! Dévalez-y la plus longue piste du domaine de Gstaad avec ses 7,5 km. !

En savoir plus

 Château-d’Œx - l’Etivaz

Connu loin à la ronde pour son Festival International de Ballons , Château-d’Œx recèle bon nombre de trésors à apprécier tout au long de l’année. Entre ses lieux culturels et de loisirs, découvrez les traditions et l’histoire de ce village des Alpes vaudoises. Au cœur de ses rues, de nombreuses haltes culinaires vous invitent à déguster les produits authentiques de la région.

Une escapade sur la colline du Temple est un passage obligé si vous souhaitez profiter d’une vue exceptionnelle sur la vallée et les montagnes environnantes. Pour les amoureux de la nature, Château-d’Œx est le point de départ idéal pour une balade en direction de la Sarine ou une randonnée plus sportive jusqu’aux villages alentour. Vous pourrez également profiter de magnifiques vols en ballon tout au long de l’année.

Situé au cœur de la nature entre Château-d’Œx et La Lécherette, le village de l'Etivaz est la capitale du fameux fromage d’alpage "L'Etivaz AOP ". Celui-ci est fabriqué, par les agriculteurs, au feu de bois d’après des méthodes ancestrales. Les meules de fromages sont ensuite stockées et affinées dans ce petit village de montagne avant de parcourir le monde entier. Profitez de cette occasion pour déguster un morceau de fromage depuis la terrasse du restaurant le Chamois.

Rougemont

Situé à près de 1'000 mètres d’altitude, laissez-vous séduire par la beauté du patrimoine architectural de Rougemont. Le village abrite de magnifiques chalets, témoins de l’art populaire de la région. Ces bâtisses en bois, dont certaines ont plus de 400 ans, arborent fièrement gravures, peintures, fleurs et inscriptions. 

A l’entrée du village, trônent fièrement le château du 16-ème siècle ainsi que son église romane du 11-ème siècle. Tous deux bâtis par les moines de Cluny et classés monuments culturels d’importance. Vous trouverez également de magnifiques hôtels, tel que le fameux hôtel de Rougemont sur les hauts du village.

Eté comme hiver, cette destination de montagne vous propose de nombreuses activités sportives. Les remontées mécaniques de La Videmanette offrent un point de départ idéal pour de belles randonnées estivales et en hiver de longues pistes de ski ensoleillées !

La culture fait partie intégrante de la vie du village. Que ce soit autour du grâce à la balade didactique ou en termes de musique grâce aux nombreux concerts organisés au sein de l'église.

C’est pour toutes ces qualités que depuis le début 2017, le village de Rougemont est classé au sein de l’association .

Rossinière

À l’entrée du Pays-d’Enhaut, le petit village de Rossinière vous accueille dans un cadre idyllique, entre charme, nature et histoire séculaire. Ses nombreux chalets en bois, aux façades peintes et ouvragées, sont autant d’invitations à se balader au centre et aux alentours du village. Un arrêt immanquable durant votre visite, le Grand Chalet , où le célèbre peintre Balthus a vécu jusqu’à son décès.

La destination se situe également sur un vaste réseau de sentiers pédestres qui fait le bonheur des randonneurs amateurs ou confirmés. Le lac du Vernex et le défilé de la Tine, qui marque la frontière avec le canton de Fribourg, sont autant de points d’attractions. 

Parc Naturel régional Gruyère - Pays-d’Enhaut

Le Parc naturel régional s'étend depuis les rives du Lac Léman à Montreux jusque dans les destinations des Alpes vaudoises ainsi que Gruyère et Gstaad. Réparti sur plus de 630 km², ce parc suisse est situé dans une zone de montagne représentative des Préalpes calcaires septentrionales. Son territoire abrite de remarquables biotopes et géotopes, ainsi qu'une faune et flore d'une grande richesse. Trois réserves naturelles “Pro Natura” y sont également recensées : La Pierreuse , Le Vanil Noir , Le Larzey.

En plus d’un décor naturel époustouflant, les traditions et la culture font partie à part entière de l’identité du parc. Que ce soit au travers des activités paysannes ou fromagères, plus d'un siècle d’histoire y est relié.

Pays-d’Enhaut Produits Authentiques

Notre région du Pays-d’Enhaut est également connue pour ses produits locaux élaborés directement au cœur de nos montagnes. Avec plus de 100 produits labellisés sous la marque Pays-d’Enhaut Produits Authentiques, découvrez de nombreuses spécialités dont le fromage d’alpage L’Etivaz AOP ou la fameuse tomme Fleurette de Rougemont. Nos producteurs fabriquent également un large choix de produits : viande de bœuf, charcuterie, infusions et bien sûr, le miel du Pays-d’Enhaut. Un savoir-faire et des saveurs uniques qui peuvent se déguster dans nos restaurants régionaux ou chez vous lors d’un bon repas entre amis !

EXTERNAL_SPLITTING_BEGIN EXTERNAL_SPLITTING_END