Le Temple — Château-d’Œx Church

Description

Majestically perched on a hill at the entrance to the village, the Temple of Château-d'Œx is an emblematic place of the Pays-d'Enhaut. Magnificent stained glass windows can be admired inside, as well as a breathtaking view of the surrounding houses and landscapes.

It is difficult to visit Château-d’Œx without making a stop at the historic Temple. Dating from the 15th century, the building sits majestically on the hill at the entrance to the town. It was here that the Counts of Gruyère built one of their watchtowers in the Middle Ages. Built in the gothic wave of 1450, the Temple was destroyed in 1800 following a fire that affected the entire village. The framework and the interior galleries were completely rebuilt. For reasons of economy, the bell tower was topped with an "imperial" roof instead of a spire, as before. In the middle of the 20th century, beautiful stained glass windows were added to the building, and a concert organ was installed in 2006. The building hosts several events each year.

Contact for rentals: Mrs Sylvie Daenzer +41(0)26 924 30 69 / secretariat@cdaenzer.ch

Majestically perched on a hill at the entrance to the village, the Temple of Château-d'Œx is an emblematic place of the Pays-d'Enhaut. Magnificent stained glass windows can be admired inside, as well as a breathtaking view of the surrounding houses and landscapes.

It is difficult to visit Château-d’Œx without making a stop at the historic Temple. Dating from the 15th century, the building sits majestically on the hill at the entrance to the town. It was here that the Counts of Gruyère built one of their watchtowers in the Middle Ages. Built in the gothic wave of 1450, the Temple was destroyed in 1800 following a fire that affected the entire village. The framework and the interior galleries were completely rebuilt. For reasons of economy, the bell tower was topped with an "imperial" roof instead of a spire, as before. In the middle of the 20th century, beautiful stained glass windows were added to the building, and a concert organ was installed in 2006. The building hosts several events each year.

Contact for rentals: Mrs Sylvie Daenzer +41(0)26 924 30 69 / secretariat@cdaenzer.ch

Duration

People usually spend 10 minutes here.
Location
Getting There
EXTERNAL_SPLITTING_BEGIN EXTERNAL_SPLITTING_END