Region of Pays-d'Enhaut with mountain range - Winter

THE PAYS-D'ENHAUT REGION

Between the Gruyère region and Gstaad lies the Pays-d'Enhaut in the Vaud Alps. This lovely valley is rich in cultural heritage and excellent gastronomy, but it also offers highlights in terms of sports and cultural activities. Biking, climbing a peak over 2000 metres high, breathtaking jumps, skiing or tasting regional products - here, everyone will find that certain something to make their stay unforgettable.

Skier at the videmanette with Gummfluh in the background - Winter - Rougemont - Pays-d'Enhaut Région

The Ski area: La Videmanette

The 7.5 km long La Videmanette piste, the longest one of Gstaad region, is an unforgettable skiing experience awaiting to be conquered.

More Information

 Château-d'Œx - l'Etivaz

Château-d'Œx is known far beyond its borders for its International Balloon Festival, yet it has many other treasures to offer throughout the year. Come and discover them among the cultural and leisure activities, the traditions and the history of this idyllic village nestled in the Vaud Alps. Its streets invite you to enjoy a culinary stop and taste the typical products of the area. 

A stroll up to the Temple hill is a must and rewards you with an exceptional view of the valley and the surrounding mountains. Nature lovers will be tempted by Château-d'Œx's easy walks along the Saane or the sportier ones to the surrounding villages and lakes. Those seeking a change of perspective can climb into the basket of a hot-air balloon all year round and admire the Pays-d'Enhaut from above. 

The village of l’Etivaz, situated between Château-d'Œx and La Lécherette, is famous for its alpine cheese L'Etivaz AOP which has been made by the farmers over a wood fire for centuries according to an old tradition. The cheese wheels then reach their maturity here in this small mountain village before being shipped all over the world. You can enjoy a piece of cheese on the terrace of the restaurant Le Chamois.

Rougemont

Situated at an altitude of 1000 metres, nestled in lovely natural surroundings, Rougemont will enchant you with its architectural heritage. Here, wonderful chalets are lined up one after the other, each with its ornamentation a shining example of the local craftsmanship. These wooden houses, some of which are over 400 years old, are a true source of pride for the locals and will delight you with their carvings, engravings, floral ornaments, and inscriptions.  

The 16th century castle and the 11th century Romanesque church rise majestically at the entrance to the village. Built by the monks of Cluny Abbey in Burgundy, both are classified as important cultural monuments. No less gorgeous, yet with an inviting level of comfort, the famous Hotel de Rougemont awaits you in the upper part of the village.

Sport plays an important role in Rougemont all year round. The Videmanette mountain station is the ideal starting point for long hikes in summer and for long, sunny downhill runs in winter!

Culture and arts and crafts are an essential part of village life. An educational tour offers a fun way to learn more about Louis Saugy, the pioneer of silhouette art. Meanwhile, the local church hosts selected classical concerts of the highest quality. 

Thanks to all this, the village of Rougemont has joined The most beautiful Villages in Switzerland association in early 2017.

Rossinière

At the entrance to the Pays-d'Enhaut, you will be welcomed by the small village of Rossinière, whose idyllic setting is shaped by its lovely surroundings, its centuries-old history and its magnificent wooden houses. Its chalets with their painted and carved façades invite you to take a stroll through the village centre and the surrounding hamlets. Don't miss the Grand Chalet, where the famous painter Balthus lived until he passed away.

This destination is situated on an extensive network of hiking trails that will make the joy of both beginners and experienced hikers. The Lac du Vernex and the Tine Gorge, which marks the border with the canton of Fribourg, are very popular among nature lovers. 

Regional Nature Park Gruyère – Pays-d'Enhaut

The Regional Nature Park extends over 630 km² from the shores of Lake Geneva in Montreux to the Vaud Alps, Gruyère and Gstaad. Its location represents the area of the northern limestone foothills of the Alps with remarkable biotopes and geotopes as well as a rich fauna and flora. Three "Pro Natura" nature reserves are included here: La Pierreuse, Le Vanil Noir and Le Larzey.

Besides the breathtaking nature, this Park offers a huge range of leisure activities with adventure hikes, wildlife watching, cultural-historical tours as well as indulging in regional specialities. 

Pays-d'Enhaut regional products

The Pays-d'Enhaut is beloved and famous for its products, made here right in the heart of our alpine world. The Pays-d'Enhaut Produits Authentiques brand comprises more than 100 products. These include specialities such as the mountain cheese L'Etivaz AOP or the renowned Tomme Fleurette de Rougemont. Beef, sausages, herbal teas and, of course, honey - our local producers use nature's treasures to prepare a wide range of exquisite products. Taste the savoir-faire that only exists here and enjoy the taste experience, in our restaurants or from your home, together with family and friends.

EXTERNAL_SPLITTING_BEGIN EXTERNAL_SPLITTING_END

Region von Pays-d'Enhaut mit Bergkette - Winter

DIE REGION PAYS-D'ENHAUT

Zwischen dem Greyerzerland und Gstaad liegt es, das Pays-d’Enhaut in den Waadtländer Alpen. Das liebliche Tal ist reich an Kulturerbe und feinster Gastronomie, bietet aber auch Höhepunkte an sportlichen und kulturellen Aktivitäten. Biken, die Besteigung eines über 2000 Meter hohen Gipfels, atemberaubende Sprünge, Skifahren oder eine Verkostung regionaler Produkte, hier finden alle das gewisse Etwas für ihren geplanten Aufenthalt. 

Skifahrer an der Videmanette mit Gummfluh im Hintergrund - Winter - Rougemont - Pays-d'Enhaut Région

Das Skigebiet: La Videmanette

La Videmanette lockt mit einem unvergesslichen Skierlebnis auf 7,5 Kilometern: die längste Piste der Region Gstaad will erobert werden!

Mehr Information

Château-d’Œx – l'Etivaz

Château-d'Œx ist weit über seine Grenzen hinaus bekannt für sein Internationales Ballonfestival, hat aber während des Jahres noch ganz andere Schätze zu bieten. Entdecken Sie diese unter den Kultur- und Freizeitangeboten, den Traditionen und der Geschichte dieses idyllischen Dorfes in den Waadtländer Alpen. In seinen Strassen ladet so mancher Ort zu einem kulinarischen Halt ein, kehren Sie ein und degustieren Sie die typischen Produkte aus der Gegend.

Ein Spaziergang zur Dorfkirche auf den Hügel ist ein Muss und belohnt Sie mit einem aussergewöhnlichen Blick auf das Tal und die umliegenden Berge. Sowieso lockt Château-d'Œx Naturliebhaber mit leichten Wanderungen der Saane entlang oder etwas Sportlicheren zu den umliegenden Dörfern und Seen. Wer dem Perspektivenwechsel liebt, kann das ganze Jahr über in den Korb eines Heissluftballons steigen und das Pays-d’Enhaut von oben bewundern.

Das zwischen Château-d'Œx und La Lécherette gelegene Dorf l’Etivaz ist berühmt für seinen Alpkäse L'Etivaz AOP. Dieser Käse wird von den Bauern seit Jahrhunderten nach alter Tradition über dem Holzfeuer hergestellt. Die Käselaibe erlangen dann hier diesem kleinen Bergdorf ihre Reife, bevor sie in die ganze Welt verschickt werden. Geniessen Sie ein Stück Käse auf der Terrasse des 1871 erbauten Restaurants Le Chamois.

Rougemont

In 1000 Metern Höhe gelegen, eingebettet in liebliche Natur, verzaubert Rougemont auch mit seinem architektonischen Erbe. Hier reiht sich ein wunderschönes Chalet an das nächste, mit den Verzierungen ist jedes ein leuchtendes Beispiel für die hier ansässige Handwerkskunst. Diese Holzhäuser, der ganze Stolz der Einwohnerinnen und Einwohner und einige von ihnen über 400 Jahre alt – entzücken mit ihren Schnitzereien, Gravuren, Blumenornamenten und Inschriften.

Am Eingang des Dorfes erheben sich ehrwürdig das Schloss aus dem 16. und die romanische Kirche aus dem 11. Jahrhundert. Erbaut wurden beide von den Mönchen der Abtei Cluny im Burgund, beide sind als bedeutende Kulturdenkmäler eingestuft. Nicht weniger prächtig, aber mit einladendem Komfort erwartet Sie das berühmte Hotel de Rougemont im oberen Teil des Dorfes.

Sport wird in Rougemont das ganze Jahr gross geschrieben. Die Bergbahn Videmanette ist im Sommer idealer Ausgangspunkt für ausgedehnte Wanderungen, im Winter für lange, sonnige Abfahrten!

Kultur und Kunsthandwerk bilden einen wesentlichen Bestandteil des Dorflebens. So vermittelt ein didaktischer Rundgang auf spielerische Weise Wissenswertes über den Wegbereiter der Scherenschnittkunst, Louis Saugy. Die Kirche indes wird immer wieder zum Ort ausgesuchter klassischer Konzerte auf höchstem Niveau.

Aufgrund all dieser Qualitäten ist das Dorf Rougemont seit Anfang 2017 Mitglied der Vereinigung "die schönsten Schweizer Dörfer".

Rossinière

Am Eingang des Pays-d'Enhaut werden Sie vom kleinen Dorf Rossinière empfangen, dessen Idylle geprägt ist von der lieblichen Umgebung, der jahrhundertealten Geschichte und seinen prächtigen Holzhäusern. Die Chalets mit ihren bemalten und geschnitzten Fassaden laden zu einem Spaziergang durch den Ortskern und die umliegenden Weiler ein. Unbedingt besichtigen sollten Sie das Grand Chalet, in dem der berühmte Maler Balthus bis zu seinem Tod lebte.

Das Reiseziel liegt ausserdem an einem weit verzweigten Netz von Wanderwegen, die sowohl für Anfänger als auch für erfahrene Wanderer zum Vergnügen werden. Beliebt sind bei den Naturverliebten der Vernex-See sowie die Tine-Schlucht, welche die Grenze zum Kanton Freiburg markiert.

 Regionaler Naturpark Gruyère – Pays-d’Enhaut

Der Regionale Naturpark erstreckt sich auf über 630 km² von den Ufern des Genfersees in Montreux bis zu hinein in das Gebiet der Waadtländer Alpen sowie Gruyère und Gstaad. Mit seiner Lage repräsentiert er das Gebiet nördlichen Kalkstein-Voralpen mit bemerkenswerten Biotopen und Geotopen sowie einer reichen Fauna und Flora. Gerade drei «Pro Natura» Naturschutzgebiete sind hier aufgeführt: La Pierreuse, Le Vanil Noir und Le Larzey.

Neben der atemberaubenden Natur bietet der Park mit Erlebniswanderungen, Wildbeobachtungen, kulturhistorischen Rundgängen oder dem Schwelgen in regionalen Spezialitäten ein riesiges Freizeitangebot.

Pays-d’Enhaut Regionale Produkte

Das Pays-d'Enhaut ist beliebt und bekannt für seine Produkte, die hier im Herzen unserer Bergwelt hergestellt werden. Mehr als 100 Produkte umfasst die Marke Pays-d'Enhaut Produits Authentiques. Dazu gehören Spezialitäten wie der Bergkäse L'Etivaz AOP oder die berühmte Tomme Fleurette de Rougemont. Rindfleisch, Wurstwaren, Kräutertees und natürlich Honig: Unsere Produzenten stellen mit den Schätzen aus der Natur eine breite Palette von Feinem her. Degustieren Sie das Savoir-Faire, das es nur hier gibt, und geniessen Sie die Geschmackserlebnisse, in unseren Restaurants oder bei Ihnen Zuhause, gemeinsam mit Familie oder Freunden.

EXTERNAL_SPLITTING_BEGIN EXTERNAL_SPLITTING_END